RURAL MUNICIPALITY OF LAKESHORE

BY-LAW NO. 10-2021

BEING A BY-LAW TO ESTABLISH A WARD SYSTEM FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING MUNICIPAL COUNCILLORS.

WHEREAS Section 87(1) of The Municipal Act provides as follows:

"Every member of a council is to be elected by a vote of the electors of the whole municipality unless the council by By-law provides that the councillors are to be elected on the basis of wards";

AND WHEREAS it is deemed necessary and desirable to establish a ward system to elect municipal councillors;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the council of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore enacts as follows:

- 1. THAT the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore be divided into two wards, as per Schedule "A", with three councillors to be elected per ward and the Reeve to be elected by the Municipality at large;
- 2. THAT the two wards be named as follows:
 - 1) Ward One
 - 2) Ward Two
- 3. THAT this By-Law takes effect at the next general election.

DONE AND PASSED as a By-Law of The Rural Municipality of Lakeshore at Ochre River in the Province of Manitoba this 11th day of January, 2022.

1st Reading: November 30th, 2021 2nd Reading: January 11th, 2022 3rd Reading: January 11th, 2022

Carmen Hannibal
Reeve

Kevin Drewniak
Chief Administrative Officer

Schedule "A"

