

RM of Lakeshore

Meeting Minutes Regular Meeting 28/02/2017 - 9:00 a.m.

Δtt	hen	ıda	nce	•
\neg		uu	1100	

<u>Members</u> <u>Present</u> Absent

Reeve Clinton Cleave

Councillors Walter Tymchuk

Rick Lodge

Darren Smith

John Berthaudin

Clayton Watts

Mike Brunen

Midge Sametz

Jim Scott

Chief Administrative Officer

Donna Ainscough

1 Call Meeting to Order

Meeting called to order at 9:00 a.m.

2 Approve Agenda/Additions

Resolution No: 17-049 Moved By: Walter Tymchuk Seconded By: Rick Lodge

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council approve the February 28, 2017 Regular Meeting Agenda

with the following additions:

None

3 Confirmation of Minutes

Resolution No: 17-050 Moved By: John Berthaudin Seconded By: Jim Scott

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the minutes of the February 14, 2017 Regular Meeting be hereby adopted as distributed.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4 Delegation

4.1 10:00 a.m. - Reinhard Bachmeier Re: Lot 3 Plan 1586 Toutes Aides

Discussion regarding Lot 3 Plan 1586, Toutes Aides and road through property. Ratepayer requesting that the municipality purchase lot back or exchange for another lot. CAO to send letter to ratepayer indicating Council's decision.

4.2 10:30 a.m. - Foreman's Report (Didychuk)

5 In Camera - Personnel

Resolution No: 17-051 Moved By: John Berthaudin Seconded By: Darren Smith

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council Recess the Regular Meeting and go into "In Camera "to discuss legal and personnel issues;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT all matter discussed are to remain confidential as per Section 83(1)(d) of *The Municipal Act.*

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6 Out of Camera

Resolution No: 17-052 Moved By: John Berthaudin Seconded By: Mike Brunen

BE IT RESOLVED THAT as per Section 152(4) of *The Municipal Act* Council does now resume sitting of the Regular Meeting.

7 By-Laws

7.1 By-law 01-2017 Proceedings and Conduct of Council Second Reading

Resolution No: 17-053 Moved By: Rick Lodge Seconded By: Jim Scott

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore give second reading to the By-Law # 01-2017 being a by-Law of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore to Regulate the Proceedings and Conduct of Council.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

7.2 By-law 01-2017 Proceedings and Conduct of Council Third Reading

Resolution No: 17-054 Moved By: John Berthaudin Seconded By: Mike Brunen

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore give third reading to the By-Law # 01-2017 being a by-Law of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore to Regulate the Proceedings and Conduct of Council.

Name	Yes	No	Abstained	Absent
Clayton Watts	✓			
Clinton Cleave	✓			
Darren Smith	✓			
Jim Scott	✓			
John Berthaudin	✓			
Midge Sametz				✓
Mike Brunen	✓			
Rick Lodge	✓			
Walter Tymchuk		✓		
CARRIED				

8 General Business

8.1 2017 Municipal Officials Seminar & Mayors, Reeves & CAO's

Resolution No: 17-055 Moved By: Walter Tymchuk Seconded By: Darren Smith

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore does hereby approve 4 members of Council and the CAO to attend the 2017 Municipal Officials Seminar and Mayors, Reeves & CAO's meeting to be held in Winnipeg on April 11-13, 2017

8.2 Rorketon Fire Chief Resignation & Appointment of New Chief

Resolution No: 17-056 Moved By: John Berthaudin Seconded By: Darren Smith

WHEREAS, the Rorketon Fire Chief Kevin Didychuk has resigned as Fire Chief but will remain as a member of the department and the Rorketon Fire Department members have unanimously voted to appoint Linus Biletski as the new Rorketon Fire Chief.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore does hereby approve the appointment of Linus Biletski as the Rorketon Fire Chief effective February 21, 2017.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

8.3 Ochre River Lagoon Capacity

Funding to be looked at for expansion of lagoon. Foreman to investigate a temporary solution to hydraulic overloading.

8.4 Council Indemnity Procedure Review

Council to include monthly summary of activity as a Council Report.

8.5 2017 Gravel & Crushing Tenders

Foreman to issue tenders for 2017 Gravel Requirements.

8.6 Manitoba Good Roads Association 2017 Membership

Resolution No: 17-057 Moved By: Walter Tymchuk Seconded By: Jim Scott

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore does hereby authorize the payment of \$200.00 for the 2017 Membership for the Manitoba Good Roads Association.

Name	Yes	No	Abstained	Absent
Clayton Watts		✓		
Clinton Cleave		✓		
Darren Smith		✓		
Jim Scott		✓		
John Berthaudin		✓		
Midge Sametz				\checkmark
Mike Brunen		✓		
Rick Lodge		✓		
Walter Tymchuk		✓		
DEFEATED				

8.7 Request for Vegetation Cleanout - 89W

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council resolution be tabled to allow further investigation.

8.8 Request for Road Construction - 162N

BE IT RESOLVED that the Council resolution be tabled to allow further investigation.

8.9 Policy Reviews

Policies to be circulated for review prior to approval.

8.10 2016 Summary of Fire Department Activities

Review of Rorketon Fire Department 2016 Calls and Training.

9 Correspondence

9.1 General

9.2 Fire Departments

9.3 Recreation

10 Committee/Council Reports

10.1 Councillor Brunen

10.2 Councillor Berthaudin

11 Accounts & Finance

Resolution No: 17-058

Moved By: Clayton Watts

Seconded By: Walter Tymchuk

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore hereby authorizes the RM of Lakeshore accounts totaling \$5,855.76 under cheque numbers 8400-8407, accounts totaling \$4,407.05 under cheque numbers 8408-8415 and direct deposit payroll accounts totaling \$5,045.71 and \$7,563.12.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11.1 2016 Budget to Actual Comparison & Financial Statement

Resolution No: 17-059 Moved By: John Berthaudin Seconded By: Clayton Watts

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council of the Rural Municipality of Lakeshore does hereby approve the Financial Statement and Actual to Budget Comparison Statement as of December 31, 2016.

12 Adjournment

Resolution No: 17-060 Moved By: Mike Brunen Seconded By: Darren Smith

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council Adjourn their February 28, 2017 Regular Meeting at 1:35 p.m. to meet again on March 14, 2017 at 9:00 a.m. in Council Chambers in Ochre River.

Original Signed by Clinton Cleave
Reeve
Original Signed by Donna Ainscough
Chief Administrative Officer